Open Thread

Let’s start to move conversations you monkeys are having forward a bit in time. Here is a post from Roachman to get you started:

Here is a video of the converted DC-10 in use for firefighting in California. It was used last week at the Gap Fire in Goleta/Santa Barbara. This video is from 2007

Water Bombing

Scroll down to the second photo for the video. Its damn Cool!!!

****

This post is now dedicated to that Nietsche thing Dave and the rest of you monkeys had going on before. I’m cutting comments on that thread. Nudge got her due. If you keep posting there, I will have to hide the comments there, don’t make me do that, please help me and follow my instructions.

20 Replies to “Open Thread”

  1. “The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford.”

    Anybody else see this movie? I just finished it. I liked it. All 160 minutes. One of the best movies that was released this year (in my opinion).

    Just one problem I had (or “error” I found) – maybe I’m wrong. I did about 30 seconds of research.

    Towards the end, there is this great scene that ends up with Jesse (Brad Pitt) saying, “I could almost see that ‘motor’ in your head grinding away.” Or something like that.

    Except the movie took place in 1881. There were no motors back then. I don’t think. Wikipedia references the first motor car as 1894. Any thoughts?

  2. They had wind-up “motors” as in pocket watches and kids’ toys. Hell, I used to own lots of them. They often had keys that you would insert for winding. I guess motors could “grind”, but that verb implies trouble to a machinist and mechanical engineer.

  3. Yeah, I’m no expert, I didn’t even start thinking about it until this movie. I looked it up on wiki and couldn’t really get anywhere in 30 seconds.

    When you say watches and toys, I’m guessing the term would have been “machine.” not motor.

    when did motor become a common term and a synonym for the brain or gears turning?

    The other one I have trouble with but want to know more about is “glass windows.” Wiki, again, is no help.

  4. roachman, your sand sniffing joke is well on its way to achieving official CFN motif status. May I suggest rolling it out each Monday for the next few weeks to maximize exposure? I’m counting on you to do this. You are on the cusp of assuming great responsibility. People are watching you, as well as all of us regulars. Someone somewhere has a big spreadsheet and is keeping score.

    On more thing for all of us to ponder… repetition never hurt these guys. [thal, you’ll hate this video. Skip it.]

  5. WTF is the sand sniffing joke? can someone give me a link to the exact comment. It’s not me. The big spreadsheet in the sky is giving me grief. Shit flows downhill. If it’s Jim’s property , it’s his, I won’t touch it.

    And no, Gunslinger is not Brandon. Jesus, Nudge, where did you come up with that idea.

    Watch out for vogonpoet, though. He’s a slick one.

    westville girl likes Gulland apparently, [edited, I like westville girl now]

    We love them westville girls.

  6. Dave says: Aren’t we monkeys first? I’m not sure that channeling is necessary. Trancending the monkey never seems to be a long-term option.

    calming the monkey in the cage. old budhist analogy and shit. product of the domesticated mind in my mind.

  7. People have their heads stuck so deed in the sand they might as well be sniffing for tar sands.

  8. Roachman, don’t think I don’t read this stuff, I do. But you ain’t gonna see no references until my next piece on the airlines.

    I just look at Citibank/Citicorp possibly failing in July, for my Bro Asoka.

  9. theroachman, on July 11th, 2008 at 11:07 am Said:

    “People have their heads stuck so deed in the sand they might as well be sniffing for tar sands.”

    Thats it. Simple and adaptable

  10. JR, one of the first electrochemical drive motors was on some single-celled dinoflagellete. You can view them in action somewhere on the net.

    Good question when the first true motor arrived. They had various steam-powered motors in the 1800s. I guess it was when someone found out that they could turn some magnets in a coil of copper wire and get electricity out (e.g., wind turbine). Reverse the process and the “motor” turns the rod. Voila!, an electric motor.

    I think Diesel came up with the ICE motor in the 1880s. It was just one of many options, steam, electric, but it was powerful.

  11. It’s not about calming the monkey so much as being more than a monkey or our constituent components. It is sad that we can never get past our immediate desires, as the situation with oil represents well.

    The Buddhism stuff is simply one of many methods for getting outside the box so to speak. Again ymmv…

  12. Hi JR,

    Beer is another solution! Pop!

    I try not to do that before the end of the day however… And, liquor’s quicker.

  13. It’s not about calming the monkey so much as being more than a monkey or our constituent components. It is sad that we can never get past our immediate desires, as the situation with oil represents well.

    The Buddhism stuff is simply one of many methods for getting outside the box so to speak. Again ymmv…

    why we should get past our desires is kind of beyond me. recognising and choosing maybe?

    anyhoo, and i’m not putting it down or anything, but the buddist stuff is just another method of conciousness altering. such things have been going for as long there has been such a thing as a frontal lobe, i guess.

    my only point, really, is that the buddist methods are particularly well suited to the domesticated variety of the human animal; ie, those born bred raised and trained into passivity.

  14. the percentage of people who can think is less than minute. it’s very easy to get swept away with the tide. eh.

  15. Right, right, I do have to agree. Indubitably so. You can even check my grammar on that.

Leave a Reply

