Meet the New Boss, Same as the Old Boss

Gazprom Set to Halt Gas to Ukraine

[update] As of early this AM, Russia has reduced gas volumes going into Ukraine by 90 million m3/day. Gas volumes that do continue to move through this system are intended for western European customers (further downstream). Russia has warned Ukraine that it is not to divert these volumes. Ukraine has said it has a gas storage reserve that should cover several weeks, however, in this peak heating season its not known how long this will last.

18 Replies to “Meet the New Boss, Same as the Old Boss”

  1. Happy New Year to everyone at ZK. Don’t drink if you’re driving and don’t drive if you are drinking!

  2. It’s Wagner and… and… and… FDR!!!!!! And mufuckin Eric Clapton too.

    Now you Ukrainians be sensible and accept that our non-deadbeat German friends have priority position as to gas access. Sieg Heil!!!

  3. Bernard L. Madoff New Years Boogie
    (not much adjustment needed, really).

    I was schemin’ when I wrote this
    Forgive me if I go astray
    But when I woke up this mornin’
    Coulda sworn it was judgment day
    Wallstreet was all purple
    There were people runnin’ everywhere
    Tryin’ 2 run from the destruction
    U know I didn’t even care

    ‘Cuz they say five hundred million zero zero party over
    Oops out of time
    So tonight I’m gonna party cause it’s Two Thousand and Nine.

    I was schemin’ when I wrote this
    So sue me if I stole your cash
    But life is just a party
    And parties weren’t meant 2 last
    War is all around us
    My mind says prepare 2 fight
    So if I gotta lie
    Don’t cha listen 2 my shoddy contrite

    Yeah, they say five hundred million zero zero party over
    Oops out of time
    So tonight I’m gonna party cause it’s 2009
    Yeah

    Lemme tell ya somethin’
    If U didn’t come 2 party
    Don’t bother knockin’ on my score
    I had Zion in my pocket
    But baby their ready 2 roar
    Yeah, everybody’s got a bomb
    We could all die any day
    But before I’ll let that happen
    I’ll dance my life away

    They say five hundred million zero zero party over
    Oops out of time
    We’re runnin’ outta time
    So tonight we gonna, we gonna (So tonight I’m gonna party cause it’s 2009)
    Say it 1 more time
    Five hundred million zero zero party over
    Oops out of time
    No, no
    So tonight we gonna, we gonna (So tonight I’m gonna party cause it’s 2009)
    Alright, it’s 2009
    You say it, 2009
    2009
    2009 don’t stop, don’t stop, say it 1 more time
    Five hundred million zero zero party over
    Oops out of time
    Yeah, Yeah
    So tonight we gonna, we gonna (So tonight I’m gonna party cause it’s 2009)
    Yeah, 2009
    Don’tcha wanna go
    Don’tcha wanna go
    We could all die any day
    I don’t wanna die
    I’d rather dance

  4. Is that a Zion in your pocket, or R U jus happy to see me?

    The champagne flutes are all washed and fluffed and ready for clinking. Holmes, I hope you remembered to put the P. Jouet on ice. As someone as handsome and well-groomed as me should certainly have said by now, detox can always be put off until next year. A toast to all of you beautiful ZK people and the next glorious phase in the epoch of unraveling.

  5. I see there was a party here and no one cleaned up. Pinot Noir all over the carpet, tsk, tsk.

    Say, whose panties are those over there?

  6. Some Kennedy’s. Who knows. Beale told me Nicholas brought her. Oh, wait, Beale wasn’t here, sorry I was thinking of someone else…

    Doom, if you ever want to read some fiction, I highly recommend ‘Glamorama’ by Brett Easton Ellis or ‘Money’ by Martin Amis.

    I haven’t finished either. I go 10 pages at a time just when I need it. Some of the best stuff ever.

  7. Thanks for the fiction tips, JR. Been up watching Rosemary’s Baby. What was in those deserts? I think we all know what was in Rosemary.

    Casavetties was perfectly cast as the dope.

    Bon nuit.

  8. Salt of the Earth – Jagger/Richards

    Lets drink to the hard working people
    Lets drink to the lowly of birth
    Raise your glass to the good and the evil
    Lets drink to the salt of the earth

    Say a prayer for the common foot soldier
    Spare a thought for his back breaking work
    Say a prayer for his wife and his children
    Who burn the fires and who still till the earth

    And when I search a faceless crowd
    A swirling mass of gray and
    Black and white
    They dont look real to me
    In fact, they look so strange

    Raise your glass to the hard working people
    Lets drink to the uncounted heads
    Lets think of the wavering millions
    Who need leaders but get gamblers instead

    Spare a thought for the stay-at-home voter
    His empty eyes gaze at strange beauty shows
    And a parade of the gray suited grafters
    A choice of cancer or polio

    And when I look in the faceless crowd
    A swirling mass of grays and
    Black and white
    They dont look real to me
    Or dont they look so strange

    Lets drink to the hard working people
    Lets think of the lowly of birth
    Spare a thought for the rag taggy people
    Lets drink to the salt of the earth

    Lets drink to the hard working people
    Lets drink to the salt of the earth
    Lets drink to the two thousand million
    Lets think of the humble of birth

  9. Hey Stu, “they” (the naked people) laced Rosemary’s dessert with some kinda drug. Sorry, I can’t spell CAT sometimes.

    “Rosemary’s Baby was Cassavettes, wasn’t it?” Actually, it was the Devil’s, but yes, John played the husband/dope.

Leave a Reply

