52 Replies to “Quizzes”

  1. I did the Pearl Harbor quiz. I only got 1 answer right out of 11 questions and I think I guessed that one.

  2. I haven’t taken any of the quizzes yet, but I’ll admit, the fact that they exist really cheered me up. Thanks, Bunn.

  3. I’ll also admit that I’ve been reading CFN this week. I think this Tenth Jager dude might have finally got OEO to sit the fuck down and STFU. It was somewhat of an unconventional approach, and the final results aren’t in, but given the track record of everybody and their brother (most recently Bob Snowjob) – it looks good.

    BTW – what ever happened to Bob Snowjob? Is he still around?

  4. I scored 6 out of 10 on Korea. These are EXTREMELY hard questions. I’m not just saying that because I only scored 6 out of 10.

    a) I am a superb test-taker, especially multiple choice. I never sweat. I have impeccable tactics and strategy.

    b) I’m better than good with technical shit like model numbers and muzzle apertures.

    c) I know the history

    d) I was lucky guessing correctly at least three times

    e) the stuff I (initially) thought was easy would probably be esoteric minuteae (or however you spell that) for most people. i.e. I know most generals and their deals, including Ridgeway (the one who carried a grenade hooked to his collar at all times). I could also tell you who his main previous unit was… well Airborne, either 101st or 82nd. He was probably a captain on D-Day. Just guessing.

    How many people would be able to do a paragraph biography like that on both him AND Stilwell?

    Like I said, these are extremly tough questions. If you can score 2 out of ten, you are doing well.

    OK, onto Vietnam.

  5. I scored 6 out of 10 on Vietnam. I was so pissed off at how hard the first question was, I started taking notes and recored my final tally as 5 out of 10, but they say 6. I’m not gonna argue.

    Half of these questions were so insanely, impossibly hard, Westmoreland would never have gotten them.

    Peak troop strength? I knew the answer. Basically. But four choices and two were 5 months apart Dec 1968 and April 1969. I guessed Dec. I was wrong. I knew the number. 500,000. That’s just crazy hard.

    The reason I know the answer is that the fact behind it is a fairly serious one in American political history. Nixon actually ended the war technically because he drew down troops from their highs under Johnson.

    To say otherwise, would be to brand Obama a worse warmonger than Bush. Sorry. Facts.

  6. I just got 5 out of 10 on WWI.

    JR, you’ll probably get 8 out of 10 on that one.

    It’s a good thing Bunn isn’t competing with us… he being omniscient and all kinda makes for an non-level playing field. Just sayin’.

  7. 3 out of 10 on Gulf War. Insanely hard questions. After Vietnam and Korea I was expecting to score at least 7 out of 10.

    [and again, I think there is something wrong with their calculator, I’m pretty sure I got 4]

    They really need to ask more like 40 or 50 questions.

    I’m pretty sure I would beat both Odierno and Petreaus here. But we wouldn’t want to test them, because that would show what frauds we all are.

    At least test Ricks and anybody that reports on Afghanistan for the NYT.

    Crazy good shit, Bunn. You’re still my rabbit for SecDef.

  8. For anybody that gives a shit, I can tell you why I got each one right or wrong (including guessing). I can lay out the thought process and why I know this shit or the what looks like very little that I actually do.

    I’d be very interested to see how Auton Unit, Remus, and Bif do on these, if they should choose to waste their time in such a fashion.

    I’ve gotta hand it to the Military Channel, these are not easy.

  9. I only got 6 out of 10 on the Civil War quiz! Must be spending too much time with monkeys; their poor test taking skills are dragging down my game.

  10. OK. I’m gonna do as Taleb does and be intellectually honest BEFORE.

    If you got 5 out of 10 on WWI, I’ll simply suggest that I should achieve at least that.

    Having an overblown self-image of my knowledge of WWI, I would say (even with my knowledge of how mediocre I did on the past three quizzes) I should score 7 out of 10. 8 would not be a surprise. Cuz I’m so awesome when it comes to WWI.

    But the Black Swan will take effect, and I’ll get 4 and have to live out my days knowing Holmes beat me on WWI, proving once and for all that I am a foul-mouthed blowhard.

  11. “poor test taking skills are dragging down my game”

    Like I say, this is great, but it would be so much better if they gave more questions. I could do at least 50 before I actually felt like I wasn’t having fun. It would enlarge the sample size and eliminate the effect of good guessing.

    This is how school SHOULD be.

  12. WWII Pacific Theater was psychotically difficult. 2/10

    I’m going to step back from this, mix up a friendly nonjudgmental beverage, and leave the test taking to the professionals.

  13. 6 out of 10 on Civil War, which I admittedly know virtually nothing about… ah, in my opinion. Obviously I know a few things. But why I couldn’t score higher than WWI is beyond me.

    I’d love to see the War Nerd take this. You know he won’t. He has a reputation to uphold. That’s also why he doesn’t write anymore.

    This is some great stuff, Bunn. I’ve actually been recording a diary on every question. Vietnam really pissed me off, cause they fucked me on how they worded stuff. The Ia Drang Valley shit was ridiculous.

    Stop laughing, Nudge. This is gonna be the next American Idol/Who wants to be a millionaire. And Bunn found it. I just hope he gets it copyrighted before the vampires get their claws in.

  14. OK Monty, see if you can guess these:

    What recent evidence has possibly negated the popular cosmic asteroid impact hypothesis for the mass extinction event that killed the dinosaurs at the Cretaceous-Tertiary geologic boundary (65 million years ago)?

    What recent models suggest that hotspot plume trails like the Hawaiian ridge and Emperor Seamount chain do not actually reflect changes in plate spreading direction (as previously thought)?

    Or, you can take what’s behind door number 3.

  15. Uh, I think you spell that genius, douchewad! And start spending more time with the kids, or it’s over. I don’t care what Axelrod said.

  16. @Doom –

    wrong thread.

    This is just me and Holmes. If you wanna get down, that’s cool. Otherwise, take it somewhere else.

    They posted a 90 minute video of Dmitri Orlov on Clusterstock today. My Sister just told me they are going to Hawaii for a week courtesy of the brother who doesn’t talk to me. I’m not in a good mood. I saw photos of the house. It looks like where I imagine you live.

  17. 4 out of 10 on Pacific. Ridiculously hard questions.

    1 out of 10 should be considered standard. Just by guessing right.

    OK Europe next.

  18. Of all the people I know (and professors) – I would only volunteer Remus and War Nerd to do better that whatever I am averaging. 3.5-4.5?

    And I would take Remus any day over Gary.

    The only other person I would even consider throwing in the mix is Bif. Or that dude from Canada that used to post here and CFN, I can’t remember his name.

  19. Europe

    8 out of 11. Easy shit. Probably should have got 10, but they fucked with some questions.

    Next.

  20. Since your sister has not called us yet, we are assuming they are not planning to stay with us. Buy the house across the street and we can be neighbors. Asking only 899K with valley and sunset views, 3 bdrm, 2.5 bath, many upgrades.

  21. “The questions are hard.”

    Hard? They’re fucking impossible. Even if you’ve spent your life reading all the books.

    It’s like trying to impress zsazsa.

  22. “Asking only 899K”

    I’ll call my brother-in-law. The guy is the greatest dude. Since I showed him how to work a computer, he’s worked wonders.

    He’s got GoogleEarth now, so he not only sees your house, he can price it and tell you what color you should paint your shingles.

    Joe is fucking great. Don’t get me wrong. I say this because he told me the median price range in your neighborhood a week ago and it is not far off.

    Oahu? Is that your island?

    You wanna meet my sister?

    Be careful.

  23. “I’m just ignorant enough to not overthink some of these.”

    It’s impossible.

    They have you fucked 6 ways til Sunday.

    I’ve been trying to underthink and overthink them with strategy. They thought this out.

    I got 8 out of 11 on what Europe D-Day? I don’t know why. Maybe they let their guard down. I mean, I know my shit, but they were still hard questions. I’m an expert on D-Day. But I’m also an expert on WWI.

    Bunn is now the “War Expert.”

  24. “Oahu? Is that your island?”

    Yes.

    “You wanna meet my sister?

    Yes.

    “Be careful.”

    OK. You realize she will blow you cover to kingdom come? Sisters do shit like that.

  25. Yeah. I know.

    I totally want my sister and “my” brother in law to meet you, but I have to manage this.

    You understand.

    Just let it happen. And don’t believe a word they say about me. I’m not like that.

  26. I suggest we meet over Mai Tais at the Mai Tai Bar in the Royal Hawaiian Hotel. It’s where they invented the Mai Tai. Great sunset and Diamond Head views.

    It should be you and me, you realize.

  27. 4 out of 10 on Pearl Harbor. I’m not sure if I’m proud or embarrassed. That was some tough shit…

    I’m proud. I did good.

  28. We have sunrise views. Somehow, it’s not the same. I usually growl around sunrise, even the pretty ones.

  29. What recent evidence has possibly negated the popular cosmic asteroid impact hypothesis for the mass extinction event that killed the dinosaurs at the Cretaceous-Tertiary geologic boundary (65 million years ago)?

    What recent models suggest that hotspot plume trails like the Hawaiian ridge and Emperor Seamount chain do not actually reflect changes in plate spreading direction (as previously thought)?

    well i’m curious if no one else is.

  30. i think some of those questions were kind of bogus, maybekinda “trick”. for example, “did the us declare war on the central powers in april 1917?”

    i said yes, but i was wrong because the us only declared war on germany. well germany was one of the central powers, so called. declaring war on one is declaring war on all? no?

    there were some others i thought bogus, but i can’t remember what they were.

  31. “What recent evidence has possibly negated the popular cosmic asteroid impact hypothesis for the mass extinction event that killed the dinosaurs at the Cretaceous-Tertiary geologic boundary (65 million years ago)?”

    Specter switching parties.

  32. “What recent evidence has possibly negated the popular cosmic asteroid impact hypothesis for the mass extinction event that killed the dinosaurs at the Cretaceous-Tertiary geologic boundary (65 million years ago)?

    Researchers recently found a 300-m thick stratigraphic section above the impact layer near the crater area in Yucatan that contains dino critters. On top of that lies the extinction layer. Section is not supposed to be there if the asteroid impact theory is correct. This points to another cause, like volcanism, as the true dino killer.

  33. “What recent models suggest that hotspot plume trails like the Hawaiian ridge and Emperor Seamount chain do not actually reflect changes in plate spreading direction (as previously thought)?”

    The plume bending model. It states that the hotspot mantle plume can bend over time in the mantle “wind”, causing the apparent change in hotspot trail direction (as island chains, narrow ridges, or over land, “burn” depressions like the Snake River Basin), not changes in plate motion. If correct, this model will set the theory of plate tectonics on its ear, not to mention our understanding of hotspots and mantle dynamics.

  34. “If correct, this model will set the theory of plate tectonics on its ear, not to mention our understanding of hotspots and mantle dynamics.” –Dr. Doom

    Kewl…. kinda like Nicholaus Copernicus’ Treatise on the Sun being at the center of our solar system…

    or Koch’s and others’ deconstructing the “spontaneous generation” theory of disease.

    Can’t wait….

  35. Vietnam quiz- 3 correct
    Gulf I – 2 correct

    these people should be happy if the average american knows which side we were on, what were the dates, and who won. Sheesh.

    I would swear Walter Cronkite told me the VC were running down the corridors of the US Embassy during Tet.

Leave a Reply

