Omega People

crowdmask

Click photo to enlarge

This entry was posted by Bif.

33 thoughts on “Omega People

  1. WTF? Awesome photo, totally freaky. I think I found our new title banner.

    WWI or WWII. I tried hard but I can’t tell. Truck suggests WWI, but the masks look pretty advanced. What are the hoses attached to? Those can’t be mini oxygen tanks.

    I’ve actually got a mask from WWII, it belonged to one of my grandfathers. Frightening. I usually wear it on Christmas mornings just to put the family in the spirit. I can never get a good seal.

    I’ve read a lot on WWI and there isn’t much historical narratice about troops actually getting hit in mustard and chlorine strikes and living for hours in those things.

    Anyway. Long day at work, lot’s of good stuff to talk about, but it’s Mother’s Day and a Formula One weekend so I need to pace myself.

    Saw Star Trek. Really liked it. Well done. Can’t disagree with the critics.

  2. In the “It’s a Small World After All” category, one of my funded projects is to sniff out WWI weapons dumped offshore of Oahu, so I know the long list of nasties they used in WWI plus those mainly nerve agents prepared for but not used in WWII.

    A biggie seems to be the blistering agent Lewisite, an oily arsenic-organic compound. It mainly killed by secondary infection, similar to burn victims today. We also sniff for explosives like TNT and RDX.

    Nice little metal casing corrosion and contents release experiment going on out there.

  3. BTW, nice photo find,Bif. How do you know they aren’t actually aliens and not just humans with masks on?

  4. Oh, they’re aliens. Look at the guy standing with I think the bugle or trumpet, left front, three feet to our right of the two kids with the rolling mounted machine gun.

    Look at his shoes. Do those look like anything circa 1914-1945. No they look like something that Heaven’s Gate cult were all wearing when they committed mass suicide to get to the mother-ship. Something designed by Nike.

    But it could be 1915. The photographic quality suggests that era. The fascinating thing to me is whether people believed in aliens back then, or if it is simply a phenomenon of our nucular age.

    And why didn’t spellcheck flag nucular? I knew it. Progress. GWB is finally making his mark.

  5. And consider this. What nationality are these things? The guy in the middle, the commander (?). His getup suggests World War I or WWI British, but he is sporting a single star on his cap, looking very Russian.

    Does Britain even have a symbol or icon? I think Union Jack, but that’s just a flag, right? It’s like the Paris Hilton of symbols. It’s just famous for being a symbol. It isn’t really anything.

    I’m just making this up. I have no idea what I’m talking about. There are gaps in my education.

  6. “Look at the guy standing with I think the bugle or trumpet, left front, three feet to our right of the two kids with the rolling mounted machine gun.”

    That’s gotta be Michael Jackson. I always knew there was something peculiar about that boy.

  7. Notice not everyone had a mask. Look at the group to the far left mid range of the photo, some kids? And the guy mid range on the right, a few people back, with glasses. If I am not mistaken, there are unmasked people posted on the periphery of both sides of the group. See what could be the head of a maskless woman after the guy with glasses?

    If I wanted full effect, I’d keep those folks out of the pic.

    Trippy.

  8. I like all the exposed skin too. Kind of like telling Doom not to drink the water after the fallout.

  9. Remind me to send you a photo of myself in a full-face gas mask used for volcano work where I cut a small hole for my cigarette. My volcano buddies took a photo of me with a cigarette in it, with some New Zealand Volcano in the background, starts with an N. It won some kinda work safety award at Los Alamos, and was posted in a glass case in the hallway there for awhile. (They may make bombs, but they have a sense of humor.)

    Naranganura, or something like that.

  10. “Notice not everyone had a mask.”

    Yeah. I’ve been staring at it for over an hour. It’s really annoying. I’m trying to watch some important qualifying stuff for F1 so I can field my bets before 8 am.

    Bif wins for most fascinating photo of the year. If I were him, I wouldn’t answer any questions. But Bif, being Bif, will answer us all in complete detail as soon as he tunes in next.

    “Notice not everyone had a mask.”

    Yes. And notice the ones close to the lens have had their images “blurred” or wiped out. Weird.

    I’m convinced. Aliens.

  11. “There are gaps in your teeth too, but we still love you.”

    Ehh? My teeth are pretty good. I think you are confusing me with Alfred E. Neuman. We have Presidential ears.

    Nice Try.

    Don’t get your hopes up, it’s an ambush. I already have a photo.

  12. gap teeth actually turn me on. But probably only Dave knows Belladonna. Whoops. I’ll erase this soon. I’ll have a post on that subject soon enough.

    Nevermind.

  13. Doom, no offense, but that Bob Snowjob really pisses me off. I’m ready to twist his left testicle. Will you grab his right one?

    Just 30 degrees clockwise. I’ll go counter. I’ve got a buddy recording the incident. I’m not sure if we should go stereo or quad. I should probably be concentrating more on a mike filter. That’s gonna be some yelp!

    All stations! Dive! Dive! aaaaaarrroooooogaaaah! Aaaarrrroogaaah! Dive! Dive! battle stations!

  14. “Remind me to send you a photo of myself in a full-face gas mask used for volcano work where I cut a small hole for my cigarette.”

    As long as I’m alive, I won’t need any reminding.

    I’m a complete freak for gas-mask photos.

  15. JR, I would consider it a deep honor to grab Bob’s right testicle while you twist his left one. I only request ear plugs.

  16. @Doom –

    ah, man, I just thought about what that would feel like.

    No, I’m not doing it. That would trully be more painful. But I appreciate you siding with me. We shall have other missions. Doom you just busted me out of my depression. God Bless You.

    Time for Formula 1 Practice session 1.

    I’ll get the stream for those without Speed.

  17. OK, so since my job is finally gonna cut me some slack with time, I’ll tell you what. I’ll do a post, >1000 words, on the story surrounding that volcano gas mask story, and I’ll send along the photo with it. Some highlights will include my side trip to Tasmania and a torn ACL in my left knee from hopping off a boulder the wrong way. The pain was amazing.

  18. You need to run up. Draft me down the straight. Just fucking kill me. I wish you had seen this a week ago we could have staged history.

    Holmes and I do this 3 times a week.

    Doom. We are bored.

    I write national Afghan Policy all week.

  19. No, I don’t think anybody understands. Holmes and I are cool.
    We want you to understand.

    We need to run

  20. Holmes and I have appointments in the Department of State (Holmes thinks Defense)

    Let’s go for it. Underground Doucheball.

  21. I think Holmes is awesome. Holmes loves all people. I’m not sure even what religion

  22. I write national Afghan Policy all week.

    Here’s the winning strategy: follow Alexander’s lead, after a few months of parading around and killing any locals that defy you, you take the troops and move on to the Hindu Kush, declaring victory to all that care to know. Leave India before the monsoon season.

  23. Doom, Holmes and I will see you very soon. I have 10 million dollars. Declare idiocy. I’m taking Holmes. Just say you are a retard. We’ll be back.

    I’ll take Holmes.

    I’m sure Holmes trusts me. If he doesn’t, then I’m fucked….

  24. Having assiduously avoided any thoughts, speculations or discussions about war for the preponderance of my decades-long life, but being a fastidious detail fanatic, nonetheless, my guess is that the photo must be WWI vintage. [I had heard that gas was outlawed after that because of the disastrous consequences for everyone.]

    http://www.gwpda.org/photos/greatwar.htm

    http://www.firstworldwar.com/photos/gas.htm

    http://www.studiogum.com/Boris%20Page/Boris.Start.01.htm

    My best guess: Belgian boyscouts out on a romp….

  25. EE, its funny I was thinking Belgium too. Look along the treeline at far left and there’s guys in berets that look like possibly soldiers. Could be France, but the woods just have the look of Belgium. I’m guessing sometime between the two wars.

    I searched high and low but was not able to obtain a shred of factual info on the origin or location of this photo.

  26. Bif-

    What site did it come from? This is a challenge–I’m very determined to figure this out… Scorpio Moon and all…. % ^ }

  27. EE, I will look for the link. I found this several months ago while exploring some archives, there are so many I don’t recall which this came from. But I can tell you that the notes on the site where I got it showed photographer, location, and date as ‘unknown’. I did some searching elsewhere and no luck. Its an interesting photo so I just saved the high rez as a jpg and moved on.

  28. For Bif and Bunn-

    A harmonic convergence…

    While JR is off molting his youthful carapace, I’m heading up to the shores of Lake Ontario at the edge of the Tug Hill Plateau next week for the high school graduation of my youngest nephew. (I’m hoping that his mother has talked him into college and out of enlisting in the Army. He would come back from combat in a body bag, no question.)

    The end of an era.

  29. Let that third eye free!!!

    EE, thanks for finding that awesome video and have a great trip.

  30. How bout that. I will be in the middle of the Adirondacks next week. Maybe a hundred miles east of you.

    EE, Tug Hill is wind farm country now. If you haven’t been there in a while you might be surprised at all the turbines.

Leave a Reply

