Recurring Dream

That recurring yet oddly evolving and seemingly pointless futurescape cluttered up my dream time again last night. The basic outline goes something like: I’m on a journey from Hollywood to somewhere due south (probably Long Beach, but I haven’t in any of the dreams made it there yet) using exclusively Metro trains and huffing it on foot. The most interesting portions of the dream, where it usually starts as well, take place in downtown L.A. and/or adjacent industrial areas.

The prior dream seemed to involve much running by me across vast expanses of concrete interrupted here and there by strange conversations with people who invariably would question my sanity for taking that particular leg of the journey on foot.

In last night’s dream, massive swaths of earth had been scooped out of downtown, revealing catacomb-like underground dwellings probably seven stories deep at least — mole people were suddenly transformed by virtue of habitat modification into cliff dwellers, albeit with a-still-underground address.

By the way… in this stupidscape, I have a travel companion who has yet to play any significant role. So he and I were moving through downtown à pied, on Figueroa St., I think it was, and suddenly (as happens in dreams I guess) we found ourselves at the edge of one of the aforementioned canyon-like potholes. Giant cranes directly overhead were moving bus-sized steel pipes about, occasionally dropping them onto the street with catastrophic ensuing destruction. No one seemed particularly concerned. An extreme degree of wanton negligence and tolerance for the same were in the air.

I pondering the precipice for a moment, but before I could do anything or even come up with a plan, from deep within the earth, bilious brackish water, swirling with garbage, debris, busted up construction materials, etc., rose to fill the pit and ceased its ascent just as the water reached the edge of the pit. Someone told me that I could walk across the water. I said, “Really?” And then I did it, scarcely sinking more than a few inches, as I went.

In last night’s version of the dream, if I may backtrack slightly, I found myself joining in with other voices (or maybe I had become the voice) questioning the sanity of anyone who would attempt to traverse this region without a car. But in the dream, in real time, I instantly sensed that I wasn’t being true to my character and moments later, in collusion with a well timed and perfectly fantastic circumstance, proved it.

12 Replies to “Recurring Dream”

  1. last night’s dream: i’m sitting and talking to an ex-girlfriend. she’s wearing make-up which strikes me as odd because she never wears makeup. she’s doing all the talking, telling me about a new garden that she’s planting (in waking life she makes her living as a gardener). I get more and more aggrivated and just wish that she would shut up.

  2. Shoot, I wish I had vivid recurring dreams. I can barely even remember them. Everything is for a reason though, so why do you think you are dreaming about futurescapes and walking on black water? I recommend milk and cookies before bedtime. Your dreams should be at least half as dreadful.

    Hey I finally went to a movie! First time in probably a year. Nobody wanted to go see Sherlock Holmes except me (i.e. I was with four women so it was mandatory chick flick). Against my will we went to see ‘Up in the Air’. To my surprise, I loved it! I need to go to movies more often.

  3. I hate to tell you but this dream you have is a freakin portal to Sodom and Gomorrah. The big giant holes in the ground are like the guts of the city, gaping and swarming with tubes and wires and steam, and mole vermin, and sickening vermin noises, and grunts. Or, like the inside of a rotten termite nest. Hey, you laugh, one time I was fucking around in the mangroves and wacked open a termite mound with a machete, and the damned thing was full of rats. I ran so fast I could have crossed over black water too, like Olympic Jesus.

  4. What the fuck is wrong with you?

    Dude?

    No. Seriously. You need help. Not for you. For me and Katya. Dude. Brackish water?

    Who the fuck has dreams with brackish water? …. Like I always say. I’m just an alcoholic who smokes weed whenever I see it and occasionally will indulge in other things.

    But I have never had brackish water problems. I don’t believe in SCientologoly or psychotherapy or prozac or jesus Christ, but Katya kinda likes you, so you need to rid yourself of the brackish water.

    (I don’t give a fuck, I’m jus sayin, I don’t know what I give a fuck about anymore

    ehhh? That long-haired english douche who used to be funny who got sober and knocked up that one named pate kerry or someting? Who the fuck WAS she?

    This is the only thing I have to say. Funniest bastrd on the planet.

    10 PM Sunday Or 7 pm. depending on your time zone.

    The Towel-Head Motherfucker.

    No serious.

    Aziz Ansari on Comedy Central.

    No.

    No.

    This motherfucker is funny

  5. Bunn-

    Some dream analysis–keep in mind that we pun a lot in our dreams.

    “That recurring yet oddly evolving and seemingly pointless futurescape cluttered up my dream time ..”

    Your unconscious is trying to send you a message that you don’t want to hear/that irks you.

    “I’m on a journey from Hollywood to somewhere due south (probably Long Beach, but I haven’t in any of the dreams made it there yet) using exclusively Metro trains and huffing it on foot.”

    This is your life as you currently see it–you’re on a journey which you feel is somewhat boring and leading nowhere except away from your old dreams/values. Also, you’re doing it the hair shirt/hard way (but ultimately conclude that is true to your internal values).

    “The most interesting portions of the dream, where it usually starts as well, take place in downtown L.A. and/or adjacent industrial areas.”

    You start to get a little less lugubrious here and admit that areas and topics viewed askance by others are attractive to you.

    “The prior dream seemed to involve much running by me across vast expanses of concrete…”

    See above under boredom. Also, another clue that the “concrete” (your daily life) is vast and you’re “running” across it… but to what purpose?

    “…interrupted here and there by strange conversations with people who invariably would question my sanity for taking that particular leg of the journey on foot.”

    What I could have added above and that you’re more open about here is that you feel–and it may go beyond your feelings and be real–you’re not getting any support in your endeavor, whatever it may be.

    “In last night’s dream, massive swaths of earth had been scooped out of downtown, revealing catacomb-like underground dwellings probably seven stories deep at least —”

    Things are more complex and deep than they first appear.

    “… mole people were suddenly transformed by virtue of habitat modification into cliff dwellers, albeit with a-still-underground address.”

    You are somewhat surprised at the rapid transformation of others (and possibly yourself) via something that seems to be not of their doing–and I sense you fear that these folks are in danger (on a cliff) now that they have been outed (former underground mole people).

    “By the way… in this stupidscape, I have a travel companion who has yet to play any significant role.”

    Hm-m-m-m. Your silent witness? Holmes?

    “So he and I were moving through downtown à pied, on Figueroa St., I think it was…”

    You and he were walking on “Figure-it-out” Street.

    “…and suddenly (as happens in dreams I guess) we found ourselves at the edge of one of the aforementioned canyon-like potholes. Giant cranes directly overhead were moving bus-sized steel pipes about, occasionally dropping them onto the street with catastrophic ensuing destruction. No one seemed particularly concerned. An extreme degree of wanton negligence .and tolerance for the same were in the air.”

    Hm-m-m-m, again. You’re on the edge and even though everything around you is chaos and destruction, you’re unable to take the leap.

    “I pondering the precipice for a moment, but before I could do anything or even come up with a plan, from deep within the earth, bilious brackish water, swirling with garbage, debris, busted up construction materials, etc., rose to fill the pit and ceased its ascent just as the water reached the edge of the pit.”

    Boy, your “dark side” is really calling! Also, water often represents emotions–seems like everything is just about to flood…

    “Someone told me that I could walk across the water. I said, “Really?” And then I did it, scarcely sinking more than a few inches, as I went.”

    …and you successfully skimmed the surface. Just a few inches.

    “In last night’s version of the dream, if I may backtrack slightly, I found myself joining in with other voices (or maybe I had become the voice) questioning the sanity of anyone who would attempt to traverse this region without a car.”

    Very funny, Bunn! You are looking for a “vehicle” for your expression, perhaps? Or maybe you’re “driving” yourself crazy going it alone.

    “But in the dream, in real time, I instantly sensed that I wasn’t being true to my character and moments later, in collusion with a well timed and perfectly fantastic circumstance, proved it.”

    Bunn, we all know you can hop on water. The big question is, can you swim in the subconcious and not drown?

  6. EE, most ingenius of you. Thanks for taking the time to write this dream analysis. (Yet another of your many talents hath emerged!)

    No, Holmes was not the travel companion. But your comment has me thinking some more about the friend of his (someone none of you know) who was/is the travel companion.

    “you feel–and it may go beyond your feelings and be real–you’re not getting any support in your endeavor, whatever it may be”

    You got me there. But this probably, at least in part, is my own martyr complex (an invideous occupational hazard, to be sure, among the god set).

    “The big question is, can you swim in the subconcious and not drown?”

    I’m an expert pearl diver in these waters, baby. Is there a danger of running into a little chunck of psychic kryptonite (for lack of a more medically precise term?) Sure there is, but honestly, I think I’ve found most of the typical ones that a similarly situated life form might expect to find — personally, a point of diminishing returns form of calculus may be at play. See the thing is, what to me might be a piece of kryptonite — if I may stick with this metaphor (god I hope it’s a metaphor, or thal will be all over me) — and, as such, potentially destructive to my framework of personal existence (a functioning yet adaptable construct [that’s what I’ll call it today], in my view), but to another different sort of diver it may well be rightly, or otherwise, seen as something entirely different. As a matter of operational efficiency, I’m not in the mood to deal with that kind of thing right now and frankly can’t afford to. (One might ought to pick their fights carefully, in this life, me thinks. But, for the record, I’ll go to war anytime. Over just about anything. Regardless of cost. Especially if it’s something I delusionally believe is worth fighting for. And other times when I’m simply trying to prove [usually to myself] that something can be done.) Also, in view of a personal attempt at objectivity, it is only with great reluctance that I would pull one such nugget out of its shell, swim to the surface, hold it up for everyone to look at, and then have some jackass tell me, “What are you complaining about? That’s a lovely pearl!”

    That said, it’s time for my boy Homey to go make some money!$!

Leave a Reply

