39 Replies to “The Desert Fox”

  1. JR, Rommel’s actions as commander of the Ghost Division (7th Panzer) in the Blitzkreig makes him legendary as a commander. Yes he was a toad of the state up into the the North African campaign, but his defying of orders and withdrawing the Afrika Corps to Tunisia, and the escape to Itlay, are legendary and a testament that he (when push came to shove) put the survival of his men ahead of demands of Hitler’s insanity to fight to the last man. They could have made it to the pyramids but its where they would have all died. This would have suited Hitler.

    Rommel was doomed from the beginning, chosen to be a symbol, and a tragic one at that, as the war was obviously unwinnable by Germany given the events of 1942.

    It perhaps was never winnable, just aquestion of how long the misery would play out. He like many Prussian generals of the regular army were tools. They allowed themselves to be used. They could have throttled this madness early on but honor and prospects for glory were their folly.

  2. As for the book cover above, its just the cover of Richard Brautigan’s shitty poetry. Nice cover though. Haha, I actually own a copy.

  3. They could have throttled this madness early on but honor and prospects for glory were their folly.

    kinda like petraus and mcchrystal, maybe even robert e lee. the world goes round in circles, down the fucking drain.

  4. MOU. Nice. Provocative interpretation. I like where you’re going. I would have no problem with that, getting totally deep into Egypt, nor especially would Rommel I’m sure (especially with her leather coat and boots!), but her name is Beverly Allen. Ah well.

    Brautigan, a notorious beat poet, is long gone now. Took his own life with a 44 mag. At his side he left behind one of his typical super-minimalist poems – “Messy. Isn’t it?” OK fine, whatever, I never got into his poetry, however I appreciated some of the book covers. This one exists in my library only as a curiousity.

  5. “a people’s history…” is a book worth reading. zinn never resorts to the historonics of say a chomsky or klien, or any dozen of other reactionaries, from both the right and left. he just tells the story, and laughs about it. rape, murder, war, takeover, pillage…they’re just a few of the things that make humans what they are.

    http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/2010/01/29/2010-01-29_howard_zinn_influential_20th_century_historian_and_activist_dies_at_87.html

  6. The Cat’s Song (by Marge Piercy)

    Mine, says the cat, putting out his paw of darkness.
    My lover, my friend, my slave, my toy, says
    the cat making on your chest his gesture of drawing
    milk from his mother’s forgotten breasts.

    Let us walk in the woods, says the cat.
    I’ll teach you to read the tabloid of scents,
    to fade into shadow, wait like a trap, to hunt.
    Now I lay this plump warm mouse on your mat.

    You feed me, I try to feed you, we are friends,
    says the cat, although I am more equal than you.
    Can you leap twenty times the height of your body?
    Can you run up and down trees? Jump between roofs?

    Let us rub our bodies together and talk of touch.
    My emotions are pure as salt crystals and as hard.
    My lusts glow like my eyes. I sing to you in the mornings
    walking round and round your bed and into your face.

    Come I will teach you to dance as naturally
    as falling asleep and waking and stretching long, long.
    I speak greed with my paws and fear with my whiskers.

    Envy lashes my tail. Love speaks me entire, a word
    of fur. I will teach you to be still as an egg
    and to slip like the ghost of wind through the grass.

  7. Good Stuff. I’m actually at a point where I think I can type again. K is calling me every day. Salinger died reminding me he existed. I’m 30 pages into Raise the roofbeams high (or whatever it’s called) for the 4th time. I love this book.

    I’ve read some about Rommel and Patton and the whole gang. They were both bit players. They say that Patton basically moved south under the Falaise Gap because the Germans had melted.

    On Rommel, I think (although he has been widely discredited – funny, I know) John Mosier and the Myth of the Blitzkrieg is a great book. It basically says that we back-project. We think of the panzer blitzkrieg into France in terms of the best the German armor had only later. When in happened in 1940, Mosier proves, the frontline French tank was better than the Mark IIs and IIIs that the Germans actually used at the time.

    History has mistakenly suggested it was an all-out assault by heavy concentrated Mark IV formations (led by Rommel). In fact (again, Mosier), the French Army put up foracious and effective resistance and only folded because the politicians behind them folded when the British quit.

  8. Asshole! You made me go down into the basement and dig up “Knight’s Cross” by David Fraser. (No worries). It has actually been sitting there on top of the first pile for about 6 years. That was easy. I can tell from the underlining I actually read the whole thing. This should be a good Saturday. K is gonna ask what I did. I’m gonna say I studied Erwin Rommel? …. errr and I have this kool image of a girl named Egypt … and she’s gonna go mmmm, dat’s vut I luv about you, JR. Perfect.

    I better get crackin. It was underlined for the occasion, but it is still 500 pages.

    Fuck. Asshole!

  9. Bif – look at the video you posted yourself. Those aren’t Mark IVs. Those are shitcans with up-gunned 37mm, not long-barrel 75mm.

    Good stuff.

  10. Uhh!

    Look, Bif, I never ever “recommend” books, or say “you should read this.”

    You should know this by now. I know very few people read and I know the time constraints and whatnot.

    The eReader and the rest of them eBook thingies are a huge scam. My father will be the first to know. $10 versus $25. Hmmmm. That’s a tough one. My father still stands strong. I noticed a few days ago he was still reading a thousand-plus page copy of “Europe.” I’ve flipped through it on holidays. I have no idea why any human would read it. I think one of my sisters got it for him. But it has been around for a few years. The $300 Sony eDouche we all bought him was nowhere in site. Maybe he had it in the bedroom, “recharging.”

    It’s a scam. A money-making scam. By Steve Jobs and Bezos.

    You can only read one book on a plane flight. You do not need or ever will need in your or your children’s future an eReader.

    Get a book. A paperback. Or a magazine. YOU FUCKING MORON!

    You are so stupid you will buy books at $10 a pop, get sick of them after 2 pages and buy another one. It’s called crack. Let me repeat-

    YOU FUCKING MORON!

    I bought Knight’s Cross for $1.00 at a discount store in hardcover, because I know what I want to read. 500. still weighs like 2 or 3 pounds. The first time I read it, it probably took me 3 hours a day for 3 weeks. I payed attention. I studied it. I underlined.

    I kept it in my basement. When the time came, I was ready, I pulled it out. Page 232.

    YOU. YOU FUCKING MORON. With your $300 iDouche – know nothing, not a thing, about Rommel. Only Bif, myself and a few select other readers know about Rommel. But not you, my iFriend.

    Boom. There are iFriends and there are the Bifs and Daves who still read. What is this world coming to? I’m actually more backwards than my Dad. Who woulda thunk it?

    But then he never did get much more than the Beatles.

  11. Lakers are coming to your town on Sunday.

    Are the Celtics ready? Pain will be dealt. Your pills cannot help you this time. Suffering will be had. Pre-Playfoff mutual fondling may yet be perpetrated. Or maybe it will simply be an old fashioned ass kicking?$? It’s difficult to say. Regardless, I will be watching from my third-story BunnAbode.

    Fuck, dave. What are you doing? Trying to make this place literate or something?

  12. Fuck You.

    No, Dude, seriously, you have to forgive me. I had this little “girl” problem, and actually a coupla incindences with the umm, the umm. I might need your advice. Just minor right on red stuff. I’ve got your addy. be expecting it.

    Janauary 30th-31st. What are you fucking stupid?

    24 hours at Daytona. They say it is the best. I rank it maybe sixth after Spa, Monza, Monaco, Le Mans, and Suzuka…

    Ehh. Petits Le Mans is pretty good. Plus German touring Cars is getting pretty fricking good with Timo Scheider.

    Dude. I will start following basketball when you start following F1. Didn’t some idiot just photo his nuts and post them on facebook? No F1 dude would do that. Except Max Moseley. And He is gone. So are all the rest of the fuckups of the last season. In F1 you either perform and act like a role model or it is over.

    This isn’t Golf. Sex rehab changes nothing. YOU are a complete fraud.

    Bunn, it’s like I keep saying, one of these days, Murdoch is gonna give me and you our own sports show where we can invite anybody we want. Like Eric Prince and Rachel Maddow.

    Movie reccomendation of the week: Yup: Gibson: Edge of Darkness: It’s Good. First half-hour is slow but it is worth it. By the end of it I had forgiven Gibson for everything he said about the Jews and I didn’t even give a fuck if he was sober. That’s his problem. Stupid Millionaire Australian.

  13. I’m blown away by reports that Edge of Darkness is actually good. The previews make me think his career is over. (Just sayin.) Wasn’t that fuck born in New York? (Just sayin again.)

    Rachel Madcow: You really like her, I can tell. I guess I should give her another look.

  14. “Dude. I will start following basketball when you start following F1. Didn’t some idiot just photo his nuts and post them on facebook?”

    Hey, I could never hope to boil the ocean of fuckupery that constitutes NBA extra-curricular activities. But how many F1 drivers have YOU talked to lately? Probably a lot more than me. Call me an inadvertent yet volitional F1 fan. I want to see Ferrari back on top. Can it happen this year? You tell me.

  15. Dave,

    I really liked The Cat’s Song. I cut and pasted it for my husband. My cat Neo is the first pet I have ever really had. I told ya’ll my husband’s cat was killed. This is the first animal I have ever spent this much time with, where the bond developed.

    I now have a cat, but is better to say the cat has me…it is asleep in my lap as I type this.

    The writer has been had by a cat too.

  16. JR, I never read ‘Knights Cross’ or ‘Myths of the Blitzkrieg’ but there are other books (‘The German General’s Talk’, and also Guderian’s first person accounts) that dispel the popular myths as well. It appears the lightening fast incursions of German armor deep into France were as much due to insubordination as any genius plan or doctrine. Both Guderian and Rommel ignored orders to stop. They were supposed to wait for the infantry to catch up. But they saw opportunity and seized it. What occurred was remarkable but it wasn’t part of the plan.

    I was surprised to read that the German army generals were for the most part pessimistic about the invasion of France and many expected this endeavor would fail. Many or most didn’t want to do it. From the many plans and variations for invading the West presented to Hitler he picked the most unconventional and unpopular of them all. The fact that the plan succeeded enormously was unfortunate because it emboldened Hitler with the mistaken notion that he was a military genius, which of course he was not. Many in higher levels of the Army may have known he was an idiot and that they were on a fool’s adventure, but the folks at home were ecstatic with their leader and his accomplishment in settling an old score. The mad man was on a serious roll.

    As far as your comment about downplaying the role of Mark IVs in taking France, you appear to be correct. The Germans accomplished this feat with relatively wimpy armor. According to Len Deighton’s book ‘Blitzkrieg’ as well as descriptions of the invasion by Guderian, the attacking force consisted mostly of light tanks and a relatively few medium tanks. This force was made up of 1800 light tanks (Mark I and IIs and previously captured Czech tanks), 350 Mark IIIs, and 275 Mark IVs. The allies had a somewhat greater number of tanks in the battle and they were superior in guns and armor thickness. Apparently it came down to the Germans’ tactics of concentrating armor rather than dispersing it, emphasis on mobility and speed, the use of field radios for coordinating tanks and field units, and the use of radios to coordinate ground forces with ground support aircraft (all of these measures being new to the battlefield). The allies employed the old WWI thinking and tactics and were crushed.

    The Blitz. Once you try something new, it’s not new anymore. Hitler was never able to achieve this kind of military success again on a campaign scale. Rommel brought flashes of it in North Africa but nothing that would ever stick. It certainly didn’t win any prizes in Russia.

  17. My cat is in my lap again, stretch cat. I have two holds for him, shoulder carry (he likes this a lot because he gets an up high vantage point and can explore things he other wise cannot see) and…

    baby carry, where I carry him in my arms like a baby. He does not like this as well, though he likes it for falling asleep.

    We call him The Dude. We have decided that he abides.

    I am so had by this cat. I let him fight with me and occasionally get scratched. He purrs. Other times he jumps in my lap and gets right in my face and rubs his face against me. I call this “lording over me” because he gets up high to do this. It is some of the sweetest, bestest, stuff in the world.

    I can’t see bunnbunn doing all this with Holmes, but then again, my cat can’t blog, either.

  18. So, the i-pad is unable to view “Downfall” parodies on u-tube? Bogus! No flash! Apple owns the company that makes the processor- it is a smart-phone chip.
    In techo geek speak, this is called “a mistake”.

  19. Downfall is one of may favorite movies ever. I love the fact that these scenes will be used to parody everything from now until I’m dead.

    Thanks for that.

    I’m curious, though, how the Germans achieve the same effect. Do they used an English dubbed version and fake German subtitles? Or do they maybe use something from the Movie Patton, or Obama?

  20. Jesus Fuck, I’m in love wit chu, AU.

    For the last 12 hours I thought I was dead. Nobody was responding to me. Nobody would pick up the phone or answer my messages. Not even my Number 1 Sister.

    You proved I’m still here. God Bless You, My Son.

  21. Well, isn’t it ironic. Last night I went hyperglycemic while driving down rt 128. I thought I might die. 2%-5% chance, I’d guess. Not exactly russian roulette. It was like driving after one too many drinks to feel secure in my driving ability. I tempted fate. I made it home ok, and in time to watch “LOST”. Thank god it is the last season of this show. I have to watch it ‘cuz I’ve invested so much time watching it so far. Nano particles from Mars?

    “[…] When the child was a child, it was the time of these questions. Why am I me, and why not you? Why am I here, and why not there? When did time begin, and where does space end? Isn’t life under the sun just a dream? Isn’t what I see, hear, and smell just the mirage of a world before the world? Does evil actually exist, and are there people who are really evil? How can it be that I, who am I, wasn’t before I was, and that sometime I, the one I am, no longer will be the one I am?[…] ”

  22. snookie – dilf (dwarf i’d like to fuck)
    pauli d – da man
    jwow – who?
    the situation – da douchebag
    sammi sweety – ? i forgot what i was gonna say
    vinny – canolli eating chachi. you’re lucky your mother loves, cause no one else does.
    ronnie – get some more juice so your balls shrivel up so’s you can’t fuck sammi no more and then go poke some loser on the boardwalk.

    can’t wait for next season.

  23. Will the last one out, please turn off the lights?

    Oh, and JR, it won’t be any worse than the crime of the last century when “Dances with Wolves” won over “Goodfellas”….

  24. Yeah Saints! Wasn’t it great!?

    But should 70 year old guys be screaming teenage wasteland? Oh the humanity. Maybe Pat Boone next year?

  25. belief in the one true power. Bif is right. The WHO sucked.

    I’m guessing the Stones without Richards.

    Oh the humanity

  26. @EE-

    I hear that. You are the only thing that is keeping me balanced.

    In other news… God is telling me there is a reason I can’t remember the 90’s

Leave a Reply

