Open Thread May

Yellow model chick
Yellow bottle sipping
Yellow Lamborghini
Yellow top missing
Yeah yeah
That sh-t look like a toupee

I get what you get in 10 years, in two days
Ladies love me
I’m on my cool J
If you get what I get what would you say
She wax it all off, Mr Miyagi
And them suicide doors, Hari Kari

[Hook]
Look at me now, look at me now
Oh, I’m getting paper
Look at me now
Oh, look at me now
Yeah, fresh than a muthaf-cker

Lil n-gga bigger than gorilla
Cause I’m killing every n-gga that
Try to be on my sh-t
Better cuff your chick if you with her
I can get her
And she accidentally slip fall on my d-ck
Ooops, I said on my d-ck
I aint really mean to say on my d-ck
But since we talking about my d-ck
All of you haters say hi to it
I’m Done

[Busta Rhymes]
Ayo Breezy
Let me show you how to keep the dice rolling
When your doing that thing over there, homie
Aye, Aye, Aye, Aye, Aye, Aye, Aye
Lets go

cause I feel like I’m running
and I’m feeling like I gotta get away, get away, get away
better know that I don’t and I won’t ever stop cause
you know I gotta win everyday day, goooo

see they don’t really wanna pop me
just know that you will never flop me
and I know that I can be a little cocky, nooo
you aint never gonna stop me

everytime I come a n-gga gotta set it then I got it going
then I gotta get it, than I gotta blow, and than I gotta shudder any little thing
the nigga think that he be doing cause it doesnt matter cause I’m gonna dadadadada

then I’m gonna murder every thing and anything a badaboom a badabing
I gotta do a lot of things, and make it clearer to a couple n-ggas
that I’m always winning and I gotta get it again and again and again

[ From: http://www.metrolyrics.com/look-at-me-now-lyrics-chris-brown.html ]

and I be doing it to death and now I move a little foul
a n-gga better call a ref, and everybody know my style
and niggas know that I’m the best
when I come to doing this and I be banging on my chest
and I bang in the east and I’m bangin’ in the west
and I come to give you more and I will never give you less
you will hear it in the street or you can read it in the press
do you really wanna know whats next, lets go

see the way we on, when we all up in the race and you know
we gotta go, don’t try to keep up with the pace
we struggling and hustling and sending in and getting in
and always gotta do it and take it to another place
gotta taste it and I gotta grab it
and I gotta cut all through this traffic
just to be at the top of the throne
better know I gotta have it

[Hook]
Look at me now, look at me now
Oh, I’m getting paper
Look at me now
Oh, look at me now
Yeah, fresh than a muthaf-cker

[Lil Wayne]
Man f-ck these bitch ass n-ggas how yall doin?
I’m Lil Tunechi, I’m a nuisance, I go stupid, I go dumb like the 3 stooges
I dont eat sushi, I’m the shit, no I’m pollution, no substitution
Got a bitch that play in movies in my jacuzzi, p-ssy juicy
I never give a f-ck about a hater got money on my radar
Dress like a skater, got a big house, came with a elevator
You n-ggas aint eatin, f-ck it, tell a waiter
Marley said shoot em, and I said ok,
If you on that bullshit then I’m like ole’
I dont care what you say, so don’t even speak
Your girlfriend a freak like Cirque Du Soleil
That’s word to my flag, and my flag red
I’m out of my head, bitch I’m outta my mind from the bottom I climb
You aint hotter than mine, nope, not on my time and I’m not even trying
Whats poppin Slime? nothin five, and if they trippin f-ck em five
I aint got no time to shuck and jive, these n-ggas as sweet as pumpkin pie
Ciroc and sprite on a private flight
Bitch I been tight since guiding light, and my pockets white and my diamonds white
And my mommas nice and my daddy’s dead
You faggots scared cause I’m too wild, been here for a while
I was like f-ck trial I puts it down
I’m so young money if you got eyes look at me now bitch

[Hook]
Look at me now, look at me now
Oh, I’m getting paper
Look at me now
Oh, look at me now
Yeah, fresh than a muthaf-cker

***

April Fools! Hahhaahaaahahaaa! Suckers!…. Oh. Wait. That was last month. Seriously?

BIN LADEN DEAD, U.S. OFFICIAL SAYS
By HELENE COOPER
Published: May 1, 2011

WASHINGTON — Osama bin Laden has been killed, two United States officials said. President Obama was expected to make an announcement on Sunday night, almost ten years after the September 11 attacks on the World Trade Center and the Pentagon.

One of the officials said that American forces, acting on intelligence, launched a “targeted assault” that killed Mr. Bin Laden, whose ability to elude capture for so long deeply frustrated the Bush administration.

The news of the death of the leader of Al Qaeda was bound to electrify the world, particularly as it comes a full decade after American forces, under President Bush, launched their all-out assault to find the man responsible for the Sept. 11 attacks.

***

So the other week, I watched the Celtics and the Knicks with some friends. We were shooting the shit about the rest of the league before the game. Talking about Lebron James’ Mom and what-not. My boy, Chris, was really liking how Derrick Rose was playing. Chris is from Texas and has only lived in Boston for 2 years, but he is way into basketball and has always been a die-hard Celtics fan.

I think the day before I had watched a Denver-Oklahoma game and saw some article questioning whether the Western Conference needed some new blood. So I jokingly predicted that I thought the Hornets would take it all this year. I believe the Spurs had also lost the first game of their series the previous weekend and Chris mockingly responded that anybody could beat the Lakers or the Spurs once.

I haven’t payed much attention to basketball since then. I’ve been following the Bruins and spending too much time with women on Newbury Street. So when I tuned into the Celtics-Heat Game one today, I was shocked to see the the Grizzlies beating the Thunder at the tail-end of the Game 1 of the Western Semi-Final Series. The who? That’s right. The Grizzlies. Watch out, Lakers?

***

The Playoffs are exciting, but we need to be careful and pay attention to the bigger issues. Why were Petraeus and Panetta moved just days before Osama was taken out? Why did Obama spend Saturday Night at the correspondents’ dinner telling so many jokes about Donald Trump? Couldn’t he spread the Love? Is this really Presidential or good Leadership? He knew then what was about to happen.

And now that Bin Laden is gone, can we get out of Afghanistan already?

I was and still am completely opposed to any US intervention in Libya. But now that Saturday’s NATO strike appearing to be a clear case of a war crime has put the lie to the pretense of a “no-fly zone” and this is obviously a full-on war – don’t you think it is about time to send the First Marine Division ashore at Tripoli and end this thing right. I mean, Obama did promise that this would be a matter of days, not weeks, kinda thing. It was bad enough that he had to fabricate a potential genocide. Really?

***

Libya: The Bizarro War
We’re killing civilians in order to save them
by Justin Raimondo, May 02, 2011

Because it looks like we’re going to be trapped in this alternate dimension – where up is down and truth is lies – for quite a long time to come. Instead of crumbling like all the other Arab despots who face their day of reckoning, Gadhafi has survived – in some measure, I would argue, because of UN intervention. Without that, it’s likely the eccentric tyrant – although he might have temporarily retaken Benghazi – would’ve fallen victim to the same seismic forces that toppled his neighbors: Ben Ali, in Tunisia, and Egypt’s Mubarak. His regime was saved by the cavalry – the NATO bombers that are daily wreaking devastation on the Libyan people.

This entry was posted by JR.

123 thoughts on “Open Thread May

  1. You mean Celts-Miami, but that’s OK, same result.

    Miami annoys the shit out of me. I stand behind my boys in green. Celts will be back!

  2. Hockey

    Nothing but the Sharks lived in Oakland during the lean years of the Sharks

  3. I hate parsing words, but why didn’t they just capture the man? The news release I read on CNN says they killed Osama “after” a fire fight. Does that literally mean they killed him after the fight, like they had an option? If so, why kill him? I can guess why, as in dead men tell no tales. Per Obama, the CIC, upmost care was taken not to kill any innocent civilians, and they had been planning the attack for months, since at least August, 2010. They were Navy seals, so they were highly trained. Even ordinary police know how to capture a high value target without killing them, if there is potentially useful information to be had via interrogation.

    Like all things related to 911, it stinks. Our government is not trustworthy. It’s sickening to listen to that BS official story coming out of Obama, and you know justice will never be served with shills like him in charge. Osama was an enemy of the US and the west, to be sure, but why the summary execution and quick burial at sea? Stinks.

  4. Surgeon: “I don’t need to use anaesthesia for castration.”

    Anaesthetist: “Really, what’s your technique?”

    Surgeon: “I have these two bricks and I smash them together on the testicles.”

    Anaesthetist (aghast): “Doesn’t that hurt?”

    Surgeon: “Only if you get your thumbs in the way.”

  5. so anyway, i don’t care what this guy does or weather he’s in good shape or not. i’m just amazed at the the playground/jungle gym set-up that’s available and open for kids for to use in the ukraine, fantastic. imagine americean soccer mommies letting thier pudgie little brats use this stuff.

    http://www.wimp.com/trainingbars/

  6. Seriously dave, those things are death traps. I mean, there’s no padding, no soft sand under foot, ends of metal pipes are exposed and the welding isn’t properly smoothed off, there’s no sun shade to prevent burning delicate hands on hot metal, the paint’s probably got lead in it, there’s no parking nearby, no place to plug in a charger, no dispensing machines and it is most certainly not ADA complaint.

    WTF.

    Besides, all our problems are solved – Obama trumped Osama.

  7. Good grief Uncle, you’ve just described the playground set that we used when we were kids! We had a heavy metal whirly round that if you got caught under it, between it and the ground, well, they would have to call the meat wagon. Never knew we were alpha product testers for the ADA until now.

  8. Couple of thoughts regarding the assassination of OBL:

    1. Where’s any photographic evidence of a body? Any photos of the hangout? After all the BS and outright lies regarding OBL during the Bush reighn, including actors that were clearly not OBL, they expect us to just take their word for it?

    2. Regarding Obama’s assurances that no civilians were harmed, a woman was shot and killed that was being used as a human shield by one of OBL’s men. We can logically conclude that she must have been a terrorist also, since Obama said no civilians were harmed. I didn’t know Islamic terrorists were co-ed. Also note the courage and level of restraint displayed by those attacking seals.

    3. Apparently during the fire fight, OBL was killed with a head shot. Does that sound like SOP for a Navy Seal on a high-value target capture? Perhaps this will be used to hide any photographic evidence of a body.

    Stinko.

  9. Something stinks alright and it’s not just OBL’s thawed out carcass.

    Birthers, meet Deathers. A BHO Production.

  10. Doom, Navy Seals aren’t cops and in a fire fight I’m guessing training trumps orders.

  11. I’m voting for Palin or Trump or whomever the the Republicans run in 2012. It will be a conscience cleansing act, and if it speeds up the eventual collapse, maybe that’s better than enduring the circus of crooks and liars we’re running with now.

  12. A farce? What makes you so sure? If this is fiction then how would you see it playing differently if it were true? Anotherwords if Bin Laden’s location was discovered, how would this or some other response have gone down in a more plausible way? What would be different? Display the body? Can’t do that. Personally, I think the basic reported story of the assault is probably legit. Whether he was killed or is presently strapped to a gurney somewhere with electrodes attached his nuts, singing like a canary or not, awaiting his ultimate execution and cremation, I don’t know. And I don’t much care.

  13. Thanks for posting the Raimondo article JR. I love it! It shows yet again that Raimondo doesn’t get it. He is being stupid on purpose. You write for money? It’s a living. There are no good guys in any of this. There haven’t been any good guys. Hahahahahaha. Lamenting our choices, allegiances and actions, what a lame and boring old story. Oh look we’re stupid! Oh look we’re on the wrong side. Or, OH! we should be on no side. All action is hypocritical. No action is hypocritical. Oh, thanks brilliant commentator. And thankyou me. Your welcome me.

  14. “– don’t you think it is about time to send the First Marine Division ashore at Tripoli and end this thing right.”

    I think its time for the French Foreign Legion to assume their destiny. Then two or three summers from now we can all meet up at the Tripoli GP for cocktails.

  15. show me the photos. if the O-man can produce a legit birth certificate, why not some photos of their trophy? per their story, the man has a hole in his head.

  16. obl’s death, bho’s birth cert, the royal wedding, stock market fluctuations, all elections, dancing with the stars,…., it’s all good.

  17. Seriously dave, those things are death traps. I mean, there’s no padding, no soft sand under foot, ends of metal pipes are exposed and the welding isn’t properly smoothed off, there’s no sun shade to prevent burning delicate hands on hot metal, the paint’s probably got lead in it, there’s no parking nearby, no place to plug in a charger, no dispensing machines and it is most certainly not ADA complaint.

    well, playing in the forest prepares young sylvan monkeys for life as an adult amongst the trees. young urban monkeys should have the same advantages. i’d say.

  18. of course the civilians need to be killed in order to saved. how else you gonna do it? give everyone a new fucking wardrobe od dakshikis?

  19. justin riomando: “i think that the situation got a raw deal on dancing with the stars.”

  20. There were photos taken just like Che Guevara, Pablo Escobar, al Zarqawi, et al but the film cartridge in the instamatic jammed and it all came out blank. That’s my guess. Ih

  21. Per CNN this AM: “There are also photographs of the body with a gunshot wound to the side of the head that shows an individual who is recognizable as bin Laden, a U.S. government official said. No decision has yet been made on whether to release the photographs and if so, when and how.”

    No photos, no proof. They’d better had used a good camera.

    And this: “A senior administration official said later that the woman who died was not bin Laden’s wife and may not have been used as a human shield, as originally reported. Nor did bin Laden have a gun, as earlier reports had indicated, the senior official said.”

    What do you call the attack and killing of an unarmed man other than an assassination? How come Saddam, Geronimo, et al., got better deals?

  22. They destroy good farmland to save a wide spot in the road of 2800 people?

  23. Yep

    eating is not quite as imporatant as property value. We have that stupidity here in Denver. To quote a major local Pres of a homeowners association when asked if he thought water savings was important for the future of this town. “We are not going to restrick water use for lawns. We will not see our property value decline.” The reported did not follow up with the obvious question of what will be your property value when there is no more water?

  24. Yeah, yeah… anyone can beat the Lakers once. Grim times for Celtics fans (down 0-2 against Miami), but I expect the Celts will roar back in Boston (at least once) and not get swept.

  25. While the OBL electode on nuts scenario is entertainlng to contemplate, I’m going with the less fun theory that the kill shot was administered by OBL’s own security personnel.

  26. dave, those guys in the video remind me of Brazilian street gymnists (a few of which I saw in Rio in ’99). They were some seriously tough dudes… doing bone crushing handsprings on the concrete sidewalk, hoping monkeys would toss a few pieces of currency in return for the unsolicited spectacle.

  27. Bunn, good to read you again, even if it’s just on the sports pages.

    JR, when can we go virtual bar hopping in Boston again?

  28. So anyway, there I was at the check-out of my local Home & Ranch store, my cart laden with 40 lb. bags of sunflower seed for birds, some suet, Finch feed and a surplus .50 ammo tin they had in stock. I asked the cashier to add several bags of manure and top soil.

    She scans the bar codes for the manure and top soil from samples in her little cashiers book then proceeds to scan the bags in my cart, then scan the smaller items I had placed on the counter.

    A screen pops up asking for ID. She says she needs to see my drivers license. I said “You’re kidding me. You need to see my drivers license for an empty surplus ammo tin?”

    I show my her my DL as she relates the Readers Digest version of a recent similar encounter with someone considerably more emotionally distraught over the, ah, inconvenience.

    By virtue of being licensed to conceal carry, owning several store-purchased firearms and purchasing ammunition by the case from an Internet-based supplier, the PTB already know what they want to know, so showing ID for a used ammo tin wasn’t about perceived privacy.

    I have no idea as to whether or not this is some new law, poor POS programming (if “ammo”, then tilt) or just some corporate lawyers letting paranoia run deep (OMG – it has the word “ammo”!), but it is absurd and it is the absurdity that gets my eyebrow cocked.

  29. hmm, the real absurdity is paying for manure while standing in the middle of oklahoma, or something like that.

  30. They were some seriously tough dudes… doing bone crushing handsprings on the concrete sidewalk, hoping monkeys would toss a few pieces of currency in return for the unsolicited spectacle.

    hate to say, but they sound like some lawyers i know.

  31. Whether or not OBL is no longer a living breathing sentient being or not is almost moot as the Empire has declared him dead in a most public manner. OBL served the Empire well and the declaration of his demise marks the end of his direct service to the needs and goals of the Empire.

    His likeness will no longer be featured prominently on the facade used to justify the MIC and State security organs. He had grown long in the tooth, the value of the paint needed to maintain his place on the facade exceeded his usefulness to the needs of the Empire, even when adjusted for inflation. Even the very facade of the global war on terror is looking a little low rent these days.

    Look for some facade renovation, giving greater prominence to resource wars, domestic civil unrest and terrorism.

  32. the real absurdity is paying for manure while standing in the middle of oklahoma,

    You have a point dave. In this case I will only plead convenience and expediency as I do not own a utility trailer and my the bed of my pickup is filled with equipment. I just tilled up a couple hundred sq. ft. of new garden plot and wanted to get it ready to plant quick.

  33. Good move JR. We’re all about the sights and sounds. Though it sounds like the anxiously anticipated OBL pic will be along the lines of a bearded pizza. Bam!

  34. It’s a Google G2. Only the html version of the wordpress dashboard is appearing in browser. Ver 2.2. I don’t know if ver is available or if it will even make a difference. I just need to remember html anyway.

  35. No body and now no photos. Obama uses possible offense as excuse to withhold them. Well, what about the offense of sending in a hit team to assassinate him, an unarmed man, and killing or wounding members of his immediate family? Where’s the physical proof? Where’s the moral high ground of justice served?

    They lie to Americans all the time, and then expect us to trust them at their word under suspicious circumstances, e.g., rapid disposal of the body. Sorry, no dice. Not that I care an iota whether they got him or not. It’s not their ends, it’s their means, but their hubris won’t allow them to see that.

    This all adds to the giant stinking pile they created with the events on 9-11. Evidence of nanothermite and vaporized steel in the building dust and physics proof of WTC demolitions (free fall) a high school student could muster. I recall they were in a big hurry to destroy the evidence back then, as well. They scrapped the steel, but couldn’t sweep up all the dust in time. Telltale heart.

  36. Look at the bright side. At least this time you won’t have to fuss over micro metal droplets in your searching for a smoking gun. Instead its big giant hunks of stealth helicopter skin providing that ninja spook techno element. ABC news says eager Pakis could be seen gathering up all the precious shards and trucking them away, to hand over to the Chinese presumably. So question is why would our guys employ and risk losing one of our top secret weapons of the empire on phony mission? Well maybe the downed bird was a stunt double fake stealth chopper, augured into the compound for dramatic effect. That’s it! Boy these guys in black are good.

  37. After the events of 9-11, the extent of the foolery pulled by the PTB in our federal government on its own people apparently knows no bounds. Some folks think the assasination was all a political stunt timed to help their man Obama get re-elected. Others speculate that it was staged (real or not) to gain support for an exit plan from Afghanistan, since it’s obviously become a quagmire and big drain on the weak economy. Declare victory and leave, just like Vietnam.

    Regarding OBL, some think he’s been dead for years now, an old man with kidney problems, on dialysis and living on the lamb in a less than optimum medical services area. Others think he died in the US pounding of the Tora Bora stronghold. During the Bush era, the US military-intelligence PR folks were parading actors as OBL that were so poorly matched it was laughable, so the video clips were pulled. OBL has been a convenient boogyman for the US for a long time, but the narrative in the MENA has apparently changed and he is no longer needed to be “at large”.

    Need I go on regarding the need for proof of OBL authenticity? Maybe they shot Jimmy Hoffa, by mistake. How embarrassing.

  38. Well if that was the case Dr and the US intelegence has known of his death for years then the anger of right wing and tea bagging idiots is even more understandable. The big leaders of the party of fail seem to be fairly quiet on this whole thing. They lost thier number one boggy man and scape goat for all that is failing in the US. A perfect political smack down by the Prez.

  39. “It’s not their ends, it’s their means”

    and there you have it.

  40. ‘When 9/11 happened, music genius Karlheinz Stockhausen said – to the outrage of millions of Americans – that “this was the greatest work of art the world has ever seen.” He had a point as 9/11 – in terms of its impact upon the collective unconscious of mankind, almost to the point of paralysis – reduced Albert Speer’s and Leni Riefenstahl’s specials to child’s play.

    So to symbolically kill the “war on terror” – which was invented because of 9/11 – Obama had to (literally) kill the (alleged) perpetrator, be it real or not, guilty or not, a clone or not. Thus the hit, the swift disposal of the body, no photos, end of the movie, no credits rolling; a tight cinematic narrative. The obvious holes in the plot, as in any Hollywood blockbuster, are deemed irrelevant; what matters is success at the box-office – and we move on.’

    http://www.atimes.com/atimes/Middle_East/ME06Ak01.html

  41. yeah, for whatever it’s worth, not much, i tend to more or less believe the offical version of obl’s death. why?

    1. if he wasn’t dead, theni think that vidoes showing obl dancing a jig would be out by now.

    2. it would have too hard to keep under raps if he had died at some earlier time.

    so, i think he was killed recently and then dumped in the ocean, i think. the rational behind this is murky.

    anyhoo, who fucking cares?

  42. I am whatever you say I am.
    If I wasn’t, then why would I say I am?
    In the papers, the news, everyday I am. -Bin Laden

  43. Wisdom regarding OBL takedown from TAE commentary:

    A Walk in the Woods said…
    Here’s a calculation.

    The headline yesterday on the news stands for USA Today said something to the affect that Public confidence in the War on Terror boosted by OBL raid, but the ‘Public’ was ‘worried’ about retaliation.

    Hmm, I don’t think Orwell himself could have written a better piece.

    It hit all the high notes. The fabricated ‘war on terror’ boondoggle is working, praisethelord. It’s effective, even if it took ten years, trillions of dollars, and millions of lives to ‘get’ one Master Mind.

    Even that useless douche of an Attorney General Eric Holder was trotted out into the limelight for a bow, taking precious time out from his massive campaign of arresting and indicting Wall St sociopaths and assorted financial terrorists to blow a kiss to the studio audience and tell them the Justice Department has their backs covered.

    God bless Duhmerica.

    And here I thought on the previous thread that all the talk about getting a cold tractor engine started was a cleverly disguised metaphor for carefully unthawing OBL from deep freeze with a propane torch to get the War on Terra started again.

    The official scripted packaged mediawhore story line for the OBL ‘take down’ reads like the Dead Parrot skit from the Pythons.

    We were sold a ‘live’ Bin Laden parrot for the last tens years but he was really just nailed to the perch and pining for The Hajj.
    _

    May 5, 2011 9:19 AM

  44. “Even that useless douche of an Attorney General Eric Holder was trotted out into the limelight for a bow, taking precious time out from his massive campaign of arresting and indicting Wall St sociopaths and assorted financial terrorists to blow a kiss to the studio audience and tell them the Justice Department has their backs covered.

    God bless Duhmerica.”

    Those are some of the funniest, most sarcastic remarks I’ve ever read. So true. A Walk in the Woods, you are a genius. No foolin.

  45. smell testing, i guess. i’ve always said that’s japs are fucking genius.

  46. JR, thanks for posting that nice Boston rat video! Thanks to you, I’ve found the perfect birthday gift for the wife. Maybe get one each for the kid, too. Here’s a demo on video:

  47. so, if you took all the wild lions left in the world, they’d fill about half of average sized football stadium. that’s fucked up.

  48. 500 showers heated from one small compost pile how to tutorial

    silly but then again

  49. I guess its like Derrick Jenson shiting in his yard to watch the plants grow from his poop

  50. my calendars are “ecoporn”? dude has his shits together. i guess some quick therapy would be making some wild passionate touchy feely out in the quiet woods, perhaps with some birds chirping and some tortugas moaning in the background. had some fun once on a big rock in Moanalua valley, out in the sunshine. she’s married now to a department chair at a major Florida university.

  51. dave, that is a very nice photo of a submarine fissure or crack in a series of volcanic flows. the flows look submarine in origin and basaltic in composition, but i’m no petrologist rock-hound type. where was the photo taken?

  52. how about a “let’s all get fucked like Japan” Tee shirt?

    “Consensus Fail”?

    long version: a nation built upon group think and childish, insular behavior, that thinks collusion is OK while pushing down independent, creative thoughts and thinkers, richly deserves its fate.

  53. Chris Brown and Lil Wayne are a little too perky for my taste. Jus sayin. Imagine having to stare down that chick at the breakfast table every morning. Maybe some duct tape, dunno. Hope that’s just an act.

  54. Zardoz knows best! Yup, Uncle, it’s bad and getting worse. Gonna be a lot of mutations and cancer deaths in the future as a result of this ongoing nuke accident or predicament. Hope the Japanese have a big stockpile of money and apologies to provide for fucking up the planet. So sorry…

  55. Is it a cosmic karmic payback that we’re downwind of this nuclear debacle?

  56. Let’s see now, we invent the atomic fission weapon, we drop the first few made on Japan, we help them rebuild and in the 1960s, we sell them the Fuku fission reactors as a “safe” form of energy production. By 2011, a tsunami, the so-called tidal wave formally named by the Japanese because they are so common there, surprises them and triggers multiple meltdowns of same fission reactors, spreading the radioactive materials produced in them over North America. Yup, I’d say that’s a cosmic karmic payback if there ever was one.

  57. What’s the point of studying CO2 systematics when we all know the root cause is fossil fuel combustion? What’s behind all the past and ongoing, proposed studies? As if we better understood all the ins and outs of the CO2 cycle, that that would somehow excuse what we’ve done and continue to do? It won’t, and so it just takes up valuable time and energy/efforts of scientists and moron taxpayer money they don’t even have. It’s like the Fuku fook ups pouring water over melted coreium masses going in and out of criticality. What’s the point, exactly? Keeping busy? Go to the beach already, and let some serious adults decide what’s best to do, if anything can be done, that is.

  58. If people actually stop and relized that fossil fuel really is the problem they are going to all end up joining raputer cults.

    Just the other day I asked an old freind when gas hits 10 bucks are you going to be mad there is no train to take home to visit your parants? This of coarse after a long argument about the so claimed wastefull Amtrack and such. A long silence and an end to the discussion. Hes still mad at me.

  59. Similarly, the quest for grand scale carbon sequestration from earth’s atmosphere is also beyond dubious.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2011/05/10/science/earth/10carbon.html

    “We are at far too early a stage to predict how this field will emerge in the years ahead,” he said. “Now is not the time to be taking options off the table.”

    Reminds me of the alchemists.

    Give me research dollars and I’ll find you some fairy dust.

  60. Ive seen pictures of fairy they are real

    dont look at the word hoax in the link its there to keep the fairys secerats

  61. Is Jimbo on vacation, leaving his Kunstlercast techie (forgot the guy’s name) to write the weekly column? Getting awful boring over there. Though I liked the allusion to a 100%-off sale at Mall*Wart in three (3) weeks – new flatscreen, anyone?

  62. Had not read it today yet. I wish Jimbo and JR could kiss up and JR could guest write. But then Jimbo can hold grudges like a sumo wrestler holds onto body fat

  63. “Two NATO helicopters entered Pakistani airspace and triggered a firefight that injured two soldiers, Pakistan’s military said, in a further setback to ties strained by the U.S. raid that killed Osama bin Laden.”

    http://preview.bloomberg.com/news/2011-05-17/pakistan-troops-clash-with-nato-helicopters-in-afghanistan-border-region.html

    aaaaannnd

    “ISLAMABAD (AFP) – Pakistan on Thursday opened a 330-megawatt nuclear power plant built with China, saying Beijing had been contracted to construct two more reactors in a bid to ease a crippling energy shortage.”

    http://news.yahoo.com/s/afp/20110512/sc_afp/pakistanchinatradenuclearenergy

  64. ‘”INDIANAPOLIS | Overturning a common law dating back to the English Magna Carta of 1215, the Indiana Supreme Court ruled Thursday that Hoosiers have no right to resist unlawful police entry into their homes.

    In a 3-2 decision, Justice Steven David writing for the court said if a police officer wants to enter a home for any reason or no reason at all, a homeowner cannot do anything to block the officer’s entry.

    “We believe … a right to resist an unlawful police entry into a home is against public policy and is incompatible with modern Fourth Amendment jurisprudence,” David said. “We also find that allowing resistance unnecessarily escalates the level of violence and therefore the risk of injuries to all parties involved without preventing the arrest.”‘

    http://www.nwitimes.com/news/local/govt-and-politics/article_ec169697-a19e-525f-a532-81b3df229697.html

  65. Gee, I wonder why they would ban such a nice commercial?

    White men are indeed much dumber than native americans and their ancestors. I’ll bet they are less happy, as well.

  66. Less happy, why? We have a system where you are imprisoned (to be educated) during your childhood years, Then you are supposed to struggle, grind, lie, cheat and steal to make a pile of cash and support your family during your working years. Then when you are old you must spend the cash lavishly but in vain on trying to restore your failed health and abused body. What’s not to like?

  67. Actually, you don’t have to get old to have your body wear out. Lots of people work themselves to an early grave. Its a free country – you still have that option.

  68. ‘The IMF chief’s alleged sex-assault victim lives in a Bronx apartment rented exclusively for adults with HIV or AIDS, The Post has learned. The hotel maid, a West African immigrant, has occupied the fourth-floor High Bridge pad with her 15-year-old daughter since January — and before that, lived in another Bronx apartment set aside by Harlem Community AIDS United strictly for adults with the virus and their families.” Oops.’

    http://www.zerohedge.com/article/why-dsk-housed-ward-inmates-infectious-diseases

  69. Good grief, Uncle, where did you find that article? Looks to be about 10 months old, so I wonder if there are more updated materials around?

    I sent it off to my neutrino physicist friends for comment.

    Ugh, possibly even more corrections would need to be made on our dates!

    Wait till the Jehovah’s Witnesses get a hold of this!

    Cheers,
    Doom

  70. dave, note the permanent grin on the alligator, an animal that appears slow to its victims, until they learn otherwise, the hard way. i’ll bet they had a hard time removing what was left of his fingers.

    sometimes they’ll let go, just to grab a bigger piece.

    is it time for the 2011 Darwin awards already?

  71. Hey JR, who’s the mystery “bugsbunny” character that made an appearance over on TOD recently? He’s apparently a newbie, only a few days old now. Stirred up quite a fuss with the regulars, especially Georgie Mobus. Hit & run.

  72. The world can’t end tomorrow. There’s a certain blonde lady I have to do certain things with before I go. I need more time for that.

  73. As of last night the Mets are at 22 – 22. I think the Mets reaching .500 is foretold in the book of Revelations, right after the lion shall lay down with the lamb. This is getting scary.

Leave a Reply

