Low Budget

 

Explosions at Houston chemical plant after it was flooded by Harvey

The Arkema plant in Crosby, Texas, is about 25 miles northeast of Houston. It lost power and its backup generators amid Harvey’s deluge, leaving it without refrigeration for chemicals that become volatile as the temperature rises.

 

Russia-gate’s Fatally Flawed Logic
Robert Parry
August 12, 2017

 

Russia-gate’s Evidentiary Void
Robert Parry
August 18, 2017

 


The War That Time Forgot
Jeffrey St. Clair
August 25, 2017

 

Americans Are Strangely Oblivious to the Security Crisis in Mexico
Ted Galen Carpenter
August 29, 2017

 

America’s Darwinian Nationalism
Robert D. Kaplan
August 13, 2017

 

Lincoln or Lee? What Would Hitler Say?
Ilana Mercer • August 28, 2017 • 1,300 words

 

NASA is about to create a $3.26 billion nuclear fireball in Saturn’s clouds

 

 

“A Gallon Of Gas”

I’ve been waiting for years to buy a brand new cadillac
But now that I’ve got one I want to send it right back
I can’t afford the gas to fill my luxury limousine
But even if I had the dough no one’s got no gasoline

I went to my local dealer to see if he could set me straight
He said there’s a little gas going but I’d have to wait
But he offered some red hot speed and some really high grade hash
But a gallon of gas can’t be purchased anywhere for any amount of cash

I can score you some coke and some grade one grass
But I can’t get a gallon of gas
I’ve got some downers some speed all the drugs that you need
But I can’t get a gallon of gas
There’s no more left to buy or sell
There’s no more oil left in the well
A gallon of gas can’t be purchased anywhere
For any amount of cash

Two extra verses from long version:
I love your body-work, but you’re really no use
How can I drive you when I got no juice?
Because it’s stuck in neutral and my engine’s got no speed
And the highways are deserted
And the air smells unnaturally clean.

It’s got power-assisted overdrive and carpets on the floor,
But it’s parked out front just like a dead dinosaur.
And I’ll be paying off the bank for 45 years or more.
It should go 100 miles an hour,
But it’s never moved away from my door.

Who needs a car and a seven-forty-seven
When you can’t buy a gallon of gas
Who needs a highway, an airport or a jet
When you can’t get a gallon of gas
There’s no more left to buy or sell
There’s no more oil left in the well
A gallon of gas can’t be purchased anywhere
For any amount of cash
You can’t buy a gallon of gas

35 Replies to “Low Budget”

  1. There are times when I feel that nothing has meaning. On a tiny planet that has been racing toward oblivion for millions of years, we are born amid sorrow, we grow, we struggle, we grow ill, we suffer, we make others suffer, we cry out, we die, or others die, and new beings are born to begin the senseless comedy all over again.

    ~ Ernesto Sabato, The Tunnel~

  2. Ernesto is channeling the Bard of “Sound and Fury” fame.

    MACBETH
    She should have died hereafter;
    There would have been a time for such a word.
    To-morrow, and to-morrow, and to-morrow,
    Creeps in this petty pace from day to day
    To the last syllable of recorded time,
    And all our yesterdays have lighted fools
    The way to dusty death. Out, out, brief candle!
    Life’s but a walking shadow, a poor player
    That struts and frets his hour upon the stage
    And then is heard no more: it is a tale
    Told by an idiot, full of sound and fury,
    Signifying nothing.

  3. Born on February 20, 1950, Walter Becker was ony five days older than moi. However, l have not lived the rock star lifestyle of Becker, only a literally poor attempt.

  4. Speaking of MacBeth, this is really good. I picked up a copy of MacBeth after I saw it. I’ve always hated Shakespeare. I need it like translated for me or put on film.

  5. Shakespear was a friggin’ genius, no, a genius among geniuses. The planets must be in proper alignment when conceived and the nurture just right to produce such a being, with such a creative mind. Probably a 1000-2000 year recurrence interval, or moron.

    Who’s even close? The Buddha, Homer, Aristotle, Newton, Einstein? These peope are absolute freaks of nature.

  6. Yes, nice F-4 footage.
    Hey Dave, check out the opening scene of Soylent Green, like your history video, but quicker and creepier..

  7. where were you in 1965 when that song was first released?

    in some weird experiment, my HS English teacher played it on his 45-rpm record player to our class. no one jumped up to dance. i thought even back then that the sound quality was poor.

  8. I’m a fleabit peanut monkey
    And all my friends are junkies
    That’s not really true
    I’m a cold Italian pizza
    I could use a lemon squeezer
    What you do?
    But I’ve been bit and I’ve been tossed around
    By every she-rat in this town
    Have you babe?
    But I am just a monkey man
    I’m glad you are a monkey woman too
    I was bitten by a boar
    I was gouged and I was gored
    But I pulled on through
    Yeah, I’m a sack of broken eggs
    I always have an unmade bed
    Don’t you?
    Well I hope we’re not too messianic
    Or a trifle too satanic
    But we love to play the blues
    But well…

Leave a Reply

